The first Whyst in Activeworlds

I thought I might start this blog off with a post about beginnings.

Roughly 10 years ago I discovered the world of creating virtual reality through Activeworlds.  This discovery started me on many unpaid hours… days… years, of hard, but satisfying work.

I had been working part time in the University of Guelph Library, trying desperately years upon years to go further in life by staying loyal to my position, hoping that my experience would gain me a permanent position.  It never happened.  But Activeworlds did.  It opened up an experience of boundless creativity for me.  After all, what is more creative than building a dream a square kilometer of land!

I met many wonderful people there in the early days.  People like Lady Murasaki, Jardine, Lady Bunny, JohnnyB, SaintWho, and Baro were pals and inspiring comrades.  Their encouragement and energy fueled me to eventually devote my career to creativity.

Activeworlds ,then, was boxy,  primitively lit, flatly textured, but at the time Whyst was a civilized sanctuary, as it always strives to be .  We walked in these gardens, and began to understand what Whyst truly is – a place where we can be our ideal selves:

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Whyst in Activeworlds ca. 2001

Unforgettable.
Unregrettable.
-Whystler
Categories: Virtual Worlds | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

